SCC 2017 Award Recipients

April 25, 2017
SCC 2017 Award Recipients

Norris Weston Award: Congratulations to the Somerville Legislative delegation for receiving the Norris Weston Award at SCC’s Annual Meeting  for their tremendous dedication in moving Somerville’s Jobs Linkage Home Rule petition forward at the Legislature. After three years of consideration, the Massachusetts State Legislature passed the Jobs Linkage Fee and Jobs Trust Fund home rule petition last summer. (in the photo, l to r, are State Rep. Denise Provost, State Rep. Christine Barber and State Senator Pat Jehlen; not pictured, former Representative Tim Toomey)

This is a momentous accomplishment that will benefit Somerville for generations to come. Once the Somerville Board of Alderman establishes a Jobs Linkage Ordinance in Somerville, the city will collect a fee from all new commercial development that will fund workforce training opportunities in Somerville. 


Hazel Hughes Award: Another hearty congratulations to Regina Bertholdo for receiving SCC’s Hazel Hughes Award for her tireless dedication to immigrant families in Somerville.

Regina is the director of the Somerville Public School’s Parent Information Center where she directs a multilingual staff that guides families through the process of registering students for school. Just as important, Regina and PIC help families find local resources and services necessary to support their child's education and development throughout their lives, 

She is truly a local hero.